ASA: Representing Subcontractors & Suppliers in the Construction Industry

"Better Construction Through Fair Construction"—The American Subcontractors Association promotes and protects the rights and interests of subcontractors and suppliers by building strength in community through education, legislation, networking and professional growth.

President's Letter

ASA logo

ASA President’s Letter—February 2018

Dear ASA Members,

Each year, ASA members elect officers and directors to represent them and to drive the Association into the future, from steering our advocacy program to keeping our Association financially healthy.  I cannot emphasize enough how important your votes are!

This year, the ASA Nominating Committee, chaired by ASA past president Robert Abney, F.L. Crane &  Sons, Inc., Southaven, Miss., announced the following candidates for officers, who would serve one-year terms from July 1 through June 30, 2019:  President, Courtney Little, ACE Glass Construction Corporation, Little Rock, Ark.; Vice President Anthony Brooks, Platinum Drywall, Maumelle, Ark.; and Secretary/Treasurer, Brian Cooper, AROK, Inc., Phoenix, Ariz.

The committee, futhermore, announced the following candidates for directors, who would serve three-year terms from July 1 through June 30, 2021:  Paul Brennan, NAPCO Precast, LLC, San Antonio, Texas; Gloria Hale, Hale Glass, Placentia, Calif.; Scott Holbrook, Crawford & Bangs, Covina, Calif.; Ray Moya, Prime Electric, Inc., Albuquerque, N.M.; and Rusty Plowman, Delta Drywall, Inc., Denver Colo.

These directors would join existing Board of Directors: Jim Blauch, Blauch Brothers, Harrisonburg, Va.; Brian Carroll, Sanderford & Carrol, PC, Temple, Texas; Jason File, Les File Drywall, Inc., Albuquerque, N.M.; Chip Mabus, F.L. Crane & Sons, Inc., Southaven, Miss.; Shannon MacArthur, MEMCO, Spring, Texas; Brad Miller, Midwest Crane & Rigging, Olathe, Kan.; Patty Peterson, Tindall Corporation, Petersburg, Va.; and Jeff VanderLaan, Kent Companies, Inc., Grand Rapids, Mich.

Also on this year's ballot, you will be asked to approve or reject the ASA Bylaws Committee's recommendations to extensively amend our Bylaws to bring them up to date.  The proposed changes can be viewed in a pdf document showing mark-ups on the ASA Web site.  You can also read the current bylaws under "About ASA" on the ASA Web site.

Please take a quick moment to complete and submit your ballot in the ASA Election 2018.  Ballots will be accepted until 5:00p.m. Eastern time on Feb. 9.  And remember, ASA is a company-based member association.  Each regular ASA-member company may submit one ballot.  Dues must be fully paid as of the voting deadline to be elgible to vote. 

Current ASA Secretary Brian Cooper, AROK, Inc., Phoenix Ariz., will announce the results of the written ballot and the election of officers for 2018-19 and directors for 2018-21 during ASA's annual meeting, which will take place from 7:30 a.m. to 8:45 a.m. on Friday, March 2 at Tempe Mission Palms, Tempe, Ariz., in conjunction with SUBExcel 2018.

For information about the ASA annual meeting, and to read the full Nominating Committee and Bylaws Committee reports, log-in to the ASA Web site.


Jeff Banker

2017-18 ASA President

Member's Portal

Click Here To Login

SUBExcel 2018

ASA Today

ASA Today

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Bronze Sponsor